Great American Main Street Award

Great American Main Street Award

Recognizing communities exemplifying the use of the Main Street Approach to revitalize traditional downtowns and neighborhood business districts.

Laramie GAMSA2022

Exceptional Main Streets

Each year, Main Street America recognizes exceptional Main Street communities whose successes serve as a model for comprehensive, preservation-based commercial district revitalization with the Great American Main Street Award (GAMSA). Since the award’s inception in 1995, over 100 Main Street programs have been honored.

We are now accepting applications for the 2023 Great American Main Street Awards!
Please see below for full details.

GAMSA 2023

Apply: Eligible programs are invited to submit an application for 2023 GAMSA honors via our online portal, by August 1, 2022 at 11:59pm CT.

Application: Candidates must submit a complete 2023 GAMSA application through the online portal. The application consists of questions designed to provide candidates with opportunities to share information about their program, and to demonstrate excellence in inclusive community transformation, historic preservation, and innovation. Candidates will also provide letter(s) of support, operating budget, district map, reinvestment statistics, and photos via upload. Please see below for application resources.

Application Fee: $150. Please remit payment to:
National Main Street Center
53 W. Jackson Blvd, Suite 350, Chicago, IL 60604

Resources: Accolades: Semi-finalists will be promoted through MSA's digital platforms. Finalists will also receive a promotional video, media support, profiles on the MSA website, and recognition at a ceremony.

: We look forward to recognizing the winners at the 2023 Main Street Now Conference in Boston, Massachusetts!

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

All Accredited Main Street America programs, with an active Main Street membership and that have not previously won are eligible to apply. Winners are selected from a nationwide pool of applicants by a jury of Main Street professionals and leaders in the fields of community and economic development and historic preservation. Criteria for winning include: strength of the Main Street program in spurring community transformation, commitment to historic preservation, innovative programming, implementation of cross-sector partnerships, community outreach and stakeholder engagement, and commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion.
GAMSA 2022 Ceremony Biddeford

If you have any questions about the Great American Main Street Award, please contact Steve Amraen at 312.610.5609 or

GAMSA Winners

Great American Main Street Award winners represent the diversity of communities in the Main Street America network—small towns, mid-sized communities, and urban commercial districts from every region in the country. Explore GAMSA winning communities:

2022 | Heart of Biddeford

2022 | Hammond Downtown Development District

2022 | Laramie Main Street Alliance

1995 - 2022