PREVIEW: Great American Main Street Award

Great American Main Street Award

Recognizing communities exemplifying the use of the Main Street Approach to revitalize traditional downtowns and neighborhood business districts.


Exceptional Main Streets

Each year, the National Main Street Center recognizes exceptional Main Street communities whose successes serve as a model for comprehensive, preservation-based commercial district revitalization with the Great American Main Street Award (GAMSA). Since the award’s inception in 1995, over 90 Main Street programs have been honored.

2020 GAMSA Application Is Now Open!

Don’t miss the chance to be recognized as one of the top communities for preservation-based commercial district revitalization. Submit your application for the 2020 Great American Main Street Award (GAMSA) by Tuesday, July 9 (midnight CST). All Accredited Main Street America programs, that have not previously won, are eligible to apply.

Winners are selected from a nationwide pool of applicants by a jury of Main Street professionals and leaders in the fields of community and economic development and historic preservation. Criteria for winning include: strength of the Main Street program in spurring community transformation, commitment to historic preservation, innovative programming, implementation of cross-sector partnerships, and demonstration of change over time.

APPLY NOW!Have questions about the application process or judging criteria? Join us for a webinar on Monday, June 3 at 1pm CST to learn more about GAMSA and hear from Blake Opal-Wahoske, Executive Director of a 2019 GAMSA-winning community, Wausau River District. Register here >


GAMSA Winners

Great American Main Street Award winners represent the diversity of communities in the Main Street America network—small towns, mid-sized communities, and urban commercial districts from every region in the country. Explore GAMSA winning communities:

2019 | Alberta Main Street

2019 | Wausau River District

2019 | Wheeling Heritage

1995 - 2018