Great American Main Street Awards®


The 2018 Great American Main Street Award application is open through July 17.

The winners will be announced at the 2018 Main Street Now Conference in Kansas City, Mo., on March 26, 2018.

Please email or contact Steve Amraen, Associate Manager of Network Services, at 312-610-5609 with any questions.

Eligibility to Apply

The Great American Main Street Awards® competition is open to all Nationally Accredited Main Street America Programs. At this time, previous winners are ineligible to apply for GAMSA.  

Application Process & Tips for Applying

Selection Process

All applications submitted by the deadline are reviewed and scored by a jury of representatives from community revitalization, economic development, and historic preservation fields.  Applications are scored based on the criteria below. Official notification of application status is sent via email.

Application Criteria

  • Overall strength of the Main Street program and documented success in creating an exciting place to live, work, play and visit;
  • Demonstrated impact aligning with the Main Street Approach;
  • Commitment to historic preservation;
  • Active involvement of the public and private sector;
  • Model partnerships, including inclusive engagement of community members and local stakeholders in the downtown revitalization process.


View GAMSA's frequently asked questions, or view our free webinar, The Great American Main Street Awards: An Insider's Guide to Applying for and Winning GAMSA. If you have other questions please don't hesitate to contact us.

Recognition of Winners

Winners of the 2018 Great American Main Street Award® will be officially announced and honored at the Main Street Now Conference in Kansas City in March.

The National Main Street Center will distribute press releases announcing the award winners to local and national media in conjunction with the awards ceremony. Winning communities will be featured on our website and social media.

Great American Main Street Award communities receive a plaque marking their achievement.

Previous Winners

The Great American Main Street Awards were founded in 1995. Check the previous winners for more Main Street sucess stories.